If I ever meet you

If I ever meet you in real life, I will probably be flustered. I can never manage the poise and calm I feel in my dreams. 

I will quickly regain my composure though, after pinching myself multiple times on end. I would like to start by telling you how beautiful and flawless and breathtaking you are. But you already heard that a thousand times today alone. Still maybe it will slip out, perhaps I will have the good sense to skip that and go on to the matter’s crux.

I will tell you then of how wonderful a person you are. How inspirational you have been to me, to my friends and many other people. I would tell you how your love shines through every smile, every hug, every kind word. I would tell you that being this close to you is the most wonderful thing to ever happen to me in this lifetime. I would tell you that I can relate to everything you have been through. I would tell you that you are simply amazing. 

I would tell you how much I admire your courage, your compassion, your free spirit. I would tell you that just to have known you helped me see light when my world was spinning black. I would tell you that I loved you, had loved you from the time I met you, even though we would be meeting for the first time. I would probably repeat this last bit another dozen times or so. 

Then, I would hold my peace. I would keep quiet and listen. I would listen to you with fire in my bones and light in my eyes. I would love to hear about your dreams and aspirations. I would love to hear you tell me about your highlights. I would love to hear about what drives you on, what makes you tick. I would sit down and listen as you share your story, your life – the difficult moments and the blissful ones. I would want to hear every single detail. 

Then I will smile and I’m sure you’ll smile with me. Because, besides the two of us, there will be no one happier in the whole wide world. 

When I meet you. If I meet you.

2 thoughts on “If I ever meet you

Leave a Reply

